Motivational Monday: Do Something Scary

Someone told me recently that you should do something you fear every day. The thought of that scared me. Or rather, recognizing how many days go by without me doing anything scary, scared me. I realized that while sometimes I take big leaps (like learning to ski) I seldom create daily opportunities to stretch myself.

I’m struggling to think of how I can stretch myself today actually. I have a normal work day and am seeing friends in the evening. Friends shouldn’t be scary, so that leaves work. I will tackle a difficult conversation I need to have. I will not leave it until Friday.

The logic behind this fear factor, I guess, is that you learn something and /or effect a positive change through doing something challenging. If you succeed in the task there’s a beneficial outcome and if you fail then you learn something about why you failed and how to cope.

Other things I have on my scary list:

  • Adult ballet classes (where dancer chicks eye you out while twisting their legs behind their necks)
  • Formal public speaking (judgement judgement judgement)
  • Swimming (every time I think about doing laps in a pool)
  • Skiing (still)
  • Networking (telling your story, selling your brand)

SCW_skiing

I won’t be able to work on all of these fears every day but by writing them down I can sort between the ones that I want to work on and those that are so too torturous I should just let them go (maybe skiing).

Similarly, by looking out for a daily challenge I’m more likely to find things at work or home that I can volunteer for or tackle as they arise.

What can you do today that will give your adrenaline a buzz?

Please share your thoughts so I know I'm not alone

